Friary Villas | 2-3 Friary Street | Derby | DE1 1JF | 07806 782109 | 07948 266652

Posts by Hannah Barker

We Are Derby is launching

We Are Derby header

We’re excited to be welcoming Jamie Thrasivoulou to the studio on Friday evening. Jamie will be performing his poem We Are Derby to a packed room of DCFC fans who are collecting their finished prints. There are some tickets still available to reserve for this event. Please be aware that this is a ticketed event…

Read More

We Are Derby

The time has arrived! Thank you to everyone for your patience and support with this amazing project. It’s been an absolute pleasure to work with Jamie, and the Derby County fans commitment to the club is truly infectious. We Are Derby is drying and is almost ready for delivery / collection! Once dried, Chris and…

Read More

Format 19 – including live event – at The Smallprint Co: 14 Mar-13 Apr

Martin Godoy Construction Time Again

The Office of Revised Futures curated by Rodrigo Orrantia The Smallprint Co. is looking forward to welcoming an installation of the work of five artists who work with photography and collage during this year’s internationally renowned photography festival. The exhibition sited in our Studio Gallery includes existing works and includes a workshop where new work is…

Read More

The Proof is in the…

Proofing

Chris has completed the mammoth task of picking and setting the text – now the proofing begins. Below is the mid-stage of 939 characters, a little under half way. Jamie joined Chris in the studio today to proof the text and discuss the final layout. Further amends will be made before final proofing and then…

Read More

The Progress of We Are Derby

The Progress of We Are Derby

The Progress of We Are Derby Chris is about half way through setting the type for Jamie’s poem We Are Derby, the poem inspired by Derby County Football Club and the industrial heritage of the city. He is using 10pt Granby for the main body of the text and wood type for the title. Once…

Read More

We Are Derby – a poem by Jamie Thrasivoulou

We Are Derby

Letterpress Poster Print We’re really pleased to be working in collaboration with poet Jamie Thrasivoulou in creating a limited edition print of his poem We are Derby. The poem We Are Derby is inspired by the people and heritage of Derby, Derbyshire and his shared love of Derby County Football Club. The piece is the official Derby County…

Read More

Photographic Evidence

© Barry Ainsworth www.barryainsworth.gallery

Barry Ainsworth is travelling around the country documenting heritage crafts and artisan makers, and we welcomed him into our studio a few weeks ago. We attract a few photographers, letterpress and each photographer focuses on a particular aspect of the studio which is always great to see. I particularly like how Barry has captured the…

Read More

Competition Time!

LOVE

We’re celebrating the launch of our new wedding inspired workshops and we want to say a huge congratulations to everyone who has got recently engaged. What better way than to launch our brand new Save the Date Letterpress Workshops?!  Such an exciting time and if you haven’t already, we’re sure that you’ll be falling headlong…

Read More

Links

OUR AFFILIATES Green Door Printmaking Studio www.greendoor-printmaking.co.uk Banks Mill Studios www.facebook.com/BanksMillStudios Evolve www.evolvederby.co.uk Applebox Designs www.applebox-designs.co.uk Derby Print Society www.derbyprintsociety.org   RESOURCES British Letterpress UK www.britishletterpress.co.uk British Printing Society www.bpsnet.org.uk Heritage Crafts Association www.heritagecrafts.org.uk Crafts Council www.craftscouncil.org.uk Arts Council England www.artscouncil.org.uk   SITES OF INTEREST Derby Book Festival derbybookfestival.co.uk Format Festival formatfestival.com Derby Print Open…

Read More